Yoga and Chakras

yoga and chakras

The chakras are seven energy centers in the body, that are powered by the life force called prana. In most people, these chakras are blocked. Kundalini yoga helps us unblock these chakras to enable energy to rise up our spine, uplifting and invigorating our body and mind. Read on to learn the connection between yoga and chakras in this article.

Kundalini Yoga and Chakras

For each chakra, there is a specific Kundalini yoga pose that can help clear the chakra and open the flow of life force.

  1. Muladhara (Root Chakra)
    Asana: Crow Pose
  2. Svadisthana (Sacral Chakra)
    Asana: Frog Pose
  3. Manipura (Solar Plexus)
    Asana: Stretch Pose
  4. Anahata (Heart Chakra)
    Asana: Camel Pose
  5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)
    Asana: Cobra Pose
  6. Ajna (the Third Eye)
    Asana: Guru Pranam
  7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Equanimity of the Seven Chakras

Begin to allow your mind to visualize the color red. Red represents the the Root Chakra, located down at the base of the spine. Feel the red beginning to burn warm, heated energy rising up within your soul.

Begin to visualize the color orange, it’s vibrancy and energy. Orange represents the Sacral Chakras located below the naval and above the pubic bone. Feel the life and energy in the orange, circulating and swirling intermixing with the red to create a healing energy within your body and soul. Sensuality and union with nature exist in the Sacral Chakras.

Allow your mind to visualize the color yellow. A bright, illuminating color glowing in your being. This is the Solar Plexus Chakras located above the navel and below the chest. Sense the warmth and energy permeating throughout your body reaching up to the crown of your head, returning down to your toes. Inner harmony and acceptance are qualities of the the Solar Plexus.
Next chakra is located near the heart and the Heart Chakras color is green. Feel the life and harmony of the color green. The heart Chakras is located at the center of the Chest. Green brings life and divine love into your mind and body.

Next, The Throat Chakras. It is located within the throat area and the color is blue. Allow yourself to experience the liveliness of blue in every cell of your body. Feel the sense of inspiration and aspiration that this Chakra represents.

Now allow your mind to turn to the color indigo, a vibrant and strong independent color. This is the Third Eye Chakra located in the center of the forehead. Imagination, idealism and a peace of mind dominate the Third Eye Chakras. Feel a sense of individualism within yourself and the power it entitles. Self Identity and purpose.

Last, visualize the pure color of purple. This is the last Chakra, the Crown Chakra located at the top of the head, the crown. Here you embrace perfection, divine wisdom, understanding and enlightenment. Feel one with the spirit within you, it’s omniscient.

As you allow each color to radiate within you, feel a sense of peacefulness and stability permeating your body. All is good, healthy and healing. Once you have allowed yourself to visualize all that is read or spoken turn your mind back to your breath. Listen to your breath and attune your mind into the presence. It’s different, clearer and pleasant. Allow the colors to stay vivid in your mind throughout the day, reflecting on each color as needed.

Sat Kriya Kundalini Yoga for Chakras
You can learn the Sat Kriya technique of Kundalini yoga to give a thorough workout to all your chakras. Sat Kriya is a powerful technique, which if practiced consistently for about 40 days can have a profound impact on your chakras. This practice awakens the dormant Kundalini energy and moves it up the spine to the crown chakra. This achievement rejuvenates your body and mind.

Chakras: A Holistic System
All the chakras are interrelated and holistic in nature. You cannot specifically work on a single chakra using Kundalini yoga and ignore the rest. The bottom three chakras deal with elimination, while the upper three focus on accumulation. Both sets meet at the middle or heart chakra, which balances the powers of both.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *