Basic Information on Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga in Sanskrit means eight limbs, which in general refers to the eight limbs of yoga that are laid out in “Yoga Sutras of Patanjali”. This ashtanga asana was first interpreted and practiced by Sri K.pattabhi Jois and Krishnamacharya from the ancient book called yoga Korunta. This described even about hatha yoga which was developed by Vamana Rishi. Pattabhi Jois and Krishnamacharya practiced ashtanga yoga together. Pattabhi Jois became a regular practitioner and interpreted that “By practicing the six different poses of ashtanga yoga regularly one can progress his/her pace”

Ashtanga is largely focused on relieving stress and tension by relaxing both the body and the mind. The yoga mantra is actually made up of eight limps, each of which has a purpose for benefiting the entire body through more ways than one. They also develop great virtues such as understanding, honesty, worship and belief in God, kindness, and a good and highly nutritional diet.

Series of Ashtanga Yoga Poses

The six different poses of ashtanga asana are given below.

  • The first ashtanga yoga is called as “Yoga Chikitsa” which is described completely in Yoga Mala. Yoga chikitsa means yoga therapy, which helps in detoxification, realigning the spine, strength building, building stamina and flexibility in the body.
  • The second ashtanga asana is called as “Nadi shodana”. Nadi shodana means purification of nervous system. This is one of the most important channels in human body. This helps in strengthening and cleansing the nervous along with the subtle energy channels that are associated throughout the human body. The third asana of this series is also similar to this but there are some variations in the third set of series of the ashtanga yogasana.
  • The fourth series of the ashtanga asana is called as”Sthria bhaga”. Sthria bhaga means divine stability. Pattabhi jois outlined intensive series among these set of series of ashtanga asana and categorized as fifth and sixth series of ashtanga asanas.
  • Led and Self-Led Ashtanga Series
    Initially if you are not aware of the ashtaga yogic poses then you might require some help while learning ashtanga asana. So, initially you can take the help of some yoga mentor so that you can get the proper help while learning set of series of ashtanga yogic postures.It is important for you to rely on a master till you become familiar with all the yogic postures. You can opt for self-led once you get familiar with the series of ashtanga yogic postures.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *