The Five Principles of Yoga

The five principles of yoga are very important for any person who practices yoga. Those who want a sound body and mind must follow these five principles of yoga.

The five principles of yoga are

  • Proper exercise( Asanas)
  • Proper breathing (Pranayama)
  • Proper relaxation
  • Proper diet
  • Proper meditation

Let’s look into each of these in brief.

Proper exercise – It is based on the idea that to have a healthy body we need proper exercise. Good health can be maintained through special yogic exercises or postures which strengthen all parts of the body by enhancing flexibility, toning the muscles and improving circulation.

Proper breathing (Pranayama)– Learning proper breathing techniques increases energy and mental clarity,refreshes body and removes stress. In short, proper breathing can help to create a focused mind.

Proper relaxation – It involves relaxing the body muscles to reduce stress and make the nervous system feel refreshed. You get peace of mind as you learn to release tension more easily.

Proper diet – Eat food which is easily digestible, is pure and promotes health in the body and mind. Natural foods such as cereals, vegetables, fruits, nuts etc are the most common components of a yoga diet. Eat in limit and only when you are hungry. In short, eating is also a way to remain healthy.

Proper meditation – It is the most important of the principles. It clears your mind of stress and helps in reaching a state of well-being and peace.

Hence, you should follow these five principles of Yoga strictly for a better health and well-being.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *