Expanding Yoga Poses Names – Backbend Poses

Do you know thoroughly about yoga, especially yoga poses? Do you remember all yoga poses names, either Sanskrit or English? One thing for sure, if you able to remember all the names and able to perform all the poses in a good manner, you deserve two thumbs up!

History about yoga poses (yoga asanas) dates back almost centuries. Asana is taken from Sanskrit words and the meaning is to be present or to sit. In term of tradition of yoga, to be recognized in a specific posture is the meaning of asanas. Inside the dictionary, asana is a noun and means sitting or mode of sitting in any particular manner. The term of Asana is comprehensively explained by Patanjali in 600 B.C. Patanjali is well-known as the compiler and the foremost exponent of yoga system. Accoding to Patanjali, yoga asana is a physical pose that not only conforms to firmness (sthairya), but also pleasant and comfortable feeling (sukham).

Therefore, it is compulsory for you to choose the most appropriate yoga poses that are able to make you keep steady, pleasant and comfortable at the same time.

In this article, we present you with information about expanding yoga poses names, especially backbend poses. All the names are given in both Sanskrit and English.

In case you want to perform these yoga poses, you may search the information about how to perform them from other sources. Nevertheless, please remember to consult with yoga expert in order to give you the maximum benefit of yoga.

Happy learning about yoga poses names!

Expanding Yoga Poses Names – Backbend poses
  • Apsarasana Eka – Mermaid pose I pose
  • Apsarasana Dvi – Mermaid pose II pose
  • Ekapada Dhanurasana – One footed bow pose
  • Makarasana – Crocodile pose / Sea monster pose
  • Viparita Salabhasana upodghata – Inverted locust pose preparation
  • Ardha-salabhasana – Half locust pose
  • Ekapada Dhanurasana
  • Paryankasana – Couch pose
  • Eka-Hasta Laghuvajrasana – One-handed graceful thunderbolt pose
  • Eka-Hasta Ustrasana – One-handed camel pose
  • Raja-kapotasana – Royal pigeon pose
  • Bhekasana – Frog pose
  • Urdhva Ekapada Bhekasana – Upward one-foot frog pose
  • Anjaneyasana – Raised feet pose – Leg extension pose
  • Supta Vajrasana – Supine thunderbolt pose
  • Matsyasana – Fish pose
  • Kapotasana – Pigeon pose
  • Ustrasana (with ekapada bhekasana) – camel pose (with one-footed frog)
  • Eka-Pada Viparita Dandasana Eka – One-footed inverted staff I pose
  • Eka-Pada Viparita Dandasana Dvi – One-footed inverted staff II pose
  • Dvi-Pada viparita Dandasana – Two footed inverted staff pose
  • Eka-Pada Urdhva-Dhanurasana – One-foot upward bow pose
  • Eka-Hasta Urdhva-Dhanurasana – One-hand upward bow pose
  • Vrscikasana Eka – Scorpion I pose
  • Eka padangustha Dhanurasana – Big toe bow pose (or Teardrop pose)
  • Padangustha Dhanurasana
  • Eka-Pada Rajakapotasana Eka – One-footed Royal Pigeon I pose
  • Eka-Pada Rajakapotasana Dvi – One-footed Royal Pigeon II pose
  • Natarajasana – Lord of the Dance pose

In the next article, we will write about hand balancing, supine and miscellaneous yoga poses names in expanding yoga poses.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *